Programs & Courses
Financial Aid

Board Members

Name Representing Location Bio
Nicole Halbauer - Chair Community Member Terrace Nicole Halbauer is currently employed by the First Nations Health Authority, involved in community engagement. She was previously the general manager at Kalum Kabs Ltd. in Terrace, B.C. Ms. Halbauer is also the current board chair of the Kitsumkalum Economic Development Board. She has also been a school board trustee for the Coast Mountains School District and a member of the Kitsumkalum Band Council for health and education portfolios. Ms. Halbauer holds a Master of Business Administration from the University of Northern British Columbia (Prince George) and an Associate Degree specializing in criminology from Northwest Community College. 
Dr. David Try - Vice Chair Community Member Terrace David Try retired as Dean of Instruction from Northwest Community College where he served in many capacities for a decade. He has been the Director and co-owner of Bevan-Try Management Consulting Inc. since 2008 and also serves as a Director of the Kitselas First Nation Development Corporation. Mr. Try is an active member of his community; currently involved with the Terrace & District Community Service Society and previously with the Terrace-Kitimat Airport Society, Terrace Public Library, Terrace Hospice Society and St. Matthews Anglican Church. He holds a PhD in Management from Warwick University, UK and a Graduate Certificate in Executive Coaching from Royal Roads University. He is a Certified Management Consultant.
Shannon McPhail Community Member Hazelton Shannon McPhail is the founder and executive director of Skeena Watershed Conservation Coalition. Ms. McPhail is involved in many community organizations, acting in roles such as member of the Majagaleehl Gali Aks Elementary School Parent Advisory Committee, vice president of Canadian Parents for French in Hazelton, and involvement with communications for the Telegraph Trail Saddle Club and the Kispiox Valley Rodeo Club. She teaches workshops across the Province on community organizing and is a former recipient of the northern BC Community Enrichment Award and the North American Conservation Leadership Award. She is also a member of the Gananooxxum (Mothers & Grandmothers) - a Gitxsan-settler women’s leadership group. Ms. McPhail is an alumnus of the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology where she was enrolled in Chemical Technology and later completed her Welding apprenticeship. She is currently pursuing a certificate in community economic development from Simon Fraser University.
Paul Bjorn Community Member Terrace Paul Bjorn is presently the Branch Manager of McElhanney Consulting Services Limited, an engineering and land surveying field. Previously he was a Plant Civil Engineer of Alcan Primary Metal BC and Owner of Bjorn Consulting. Mr. Bjorn is presently a Director for the Northwest Science and Innovation Society and Treasurer for the Rotary Club of Terrace-Skeena Valley. He is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC. He holds his Certificate in Sustainability from Simon Fraser University and his Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Victoria.
Ernie Dusdal Community Member Terrace Ernie Dusdal has been with Carlyle Shepard & Co., Chartered Professional Accountants, since 1982 and became a partner in the firm in 1992. Ernie received his diploma in Business Administration from Camosun College in 1982. He is a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of BC. He has also been on the Boards for Northwest Airport Society and the Dr. R.E.M. Lee Hospital Foundation.
William Parmar Community Member Prince Rupert Bill was born and raised in a small village in northern Punjab, India. In 1970 he immigrated to Prince Rupert, Canada at the age of 21. He moved to Canada while attending his 3rd year Punjab University, where he was trained in (CTED) Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design. After 33 years in business Bill decided to change his career and joined RCMP Victim Services Unit. He is presently the Assistant Manager for Prince Rupert Victim Services. Bill's love for Community Service is incontestable; he is a member of the Rotary Club of Prince Rupert for 20 years and International projects Chair. Bill's previous roles include: Assistant District Governor, Chair of the Community Future of the Pacific Northwest, Past President of Prince Rupert and District Chamber of Commerce, area representative for the BC Transport Society and several other organizations.
Diane McRae Community Member Terrace Diane McRae has worked in administration and finance since 1990. She is currently the Executive Director of the Giksan Government Commission. Diane has her certification in accounting, land management, mediation and conflict resolution. She obtained her designation for financial management in 2006 and most recently obtained her Master’s Certification in Project Management through the University of Northern British Columbia. In her spare time, Diane volunteers for many community events/organizations. She is a member of the Gitanmaax Band Council and has been a participant/Director of the ‘Ksan Performing Arts dance group since 1996.
Jolene Wesley Community Member Terrace Jolene Wesley is the Program Director for the Kermode Friendship Society and was previously a First Nations Access Coordinator at Northwest Community College. Ms. Wesley is actively involved in a variety of community activities including the Rural and Remote Advisory Board with the BC Rural and Remote Homelessness partnering Strategy and the Ksan Society Volunteer Board. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from University of Northern British Columbia.
Christine Speidel Elected Support Member Terrace Christine has been involved in the education field for over 20 years.  She worked in multiple capacities with School District 82 providing service to students, to schools and to the district as a whole.  She is currently employed as Facilities Assistant at NWCC, but in the past two years has worked in a number of other roles at the college.  Christine has significant experience working with non-profit boards and locally has been involved at the executive or committee level for Terrace Minor Lacrosse Association, Terrace and District Arts Council and the Terrace Community Band Society.  Christine holds a Diploma in Justice Administration from Mount Royal University as well as significant training in software applications.  
Catharine White Education Council Chair Terrace Catharine White is currently the NWCC Education Council Chair, elected in April 2017.  She has been with the College since 2010, and teaches biology and ecology courses and field schools in the University Credit program.  Catharine graduated from Cornell University in 2005 with a PhD in Microbiology, with minors in Biochemistry and Plant Science.  Before joining NWCC, she worked as a post-doctoral associate at the Institute for Genetics and Microbiology at the Ludwig Maximilians University in Munich, Germany; and McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.
Karmen Smith First Nations Council Chair    
Chris Gee Elected Faculty Member Terrace  
Reilly Walker Student Representative -  University Credit Program Terrace  
Adelle Jonker ​ Student Representative - SSW Program Terrace  

Board meetings are held approximately every six to eight weeks from September through to June of the school year.

Please refer to the meeting schedule section for the current meeting dates and locations.

Information can be obtained by emailing:

Students, staff and the general public are welcome to attend public portion of the meetings.