Programs & Courses
Financial Aid

First Nations Council Members

Karmen Smith – Chair 

Gitanmaax Band
Karmen is Gitxsan from the Wolf Clan and a registered member of the Gitanmaax Band located in Hazelton, B.C.  All of her education and work experience has been in the education field.  She is a graduate from the NITEP Teacher Training program at UBC and has worked as a K-12 teacher in several BC school districts.  After her teaching career, she was in administrative positions with the Gitksan Wet’suwet’en Education Society (Program Manager), the First Nations Steering Committee (Curriculum Development), The Ministry of Education (Exam Department) and is currently working for the Gitksan Government Commission in the capacity of Education Advisor for four Gitxsan Bands. Karmen also sits on the FNESC Board and several FNESC committees (Personnel Committee and the Post-Secondary Sub-Committee as Vice Chair). Her passions are education and the success of Aboriginal student from Kindergarten to Post-Secondary.

Charlotte Guno – Vice Chair

Kitsumkalum Band Council

No Representative Dease Lake

Annette Morgan

Dze L K'ant Friendship Society

Lucy Heffernan

Friendship House Association

Neal Barton / Claude Barton

Gingolx Band Council

Pansy Wright Simms

Gitanmaax Band Council

Arvida Marsden / Dianna Russell

Gitanyow Band Council

Tracey Woods

Gitksan Wet'suwet'en Education Society

Maryann Adams/ Camellia Swift

Gitlaxt’aamiks Village Government

Veronica Milton

Gitsegukla Education

Lesley Morgan

Gitwangak Education Society

No Representative

Gitwinksihlkw Village Government

Craig Bolton

Gitxaala Nation

Sheila Joseph 

Hagwilget Village Council

Nina Shaw

Haisla Nation Council

Charlotte Anderson

Hartley Bay Village Government

No Representative

Houston Friendship Centre

Hilda Louie

Iskut Band Council

Cal Albright / Jolene Wesley

Kermode Friendship Society

Darlene Clayton / Cindy Stevens

Kispiox Band Council

No Representative

Kitasoo Education Authority

Marianne Hemmy

Kitimat Valley Institute Corporation

Laura Blumhagen

Kitselas Band Council

Priscilla Michell

Kyah Wiget Education Society

Harvey Russell Jr.

Lax Kw'alaams Band

Phyllis Clark  / Craig McKay

Laxgalts’ap Village Government

Darcie Petuh

Metis Nation BC

No Representative

Metlakata First Nation

David Hill

Old Massett Village Council

No Representative

Sik-E-Dakh (Glen Vowell)

Marcia Piercey / Lyndale George

Skidegate Band Council

Ryan Franke / Isabell Reid

Tahltan Band Council

No Representative

Telegraph Creek

Bev Azak

Lisims Government Terrace 

Phil Burton / Marian Kotowich-Laval                         


Mitch Verde

Wilp Wilxo'oskwhl Nisga'a

Election: October 1, 2018

FNC, Student Representative